camp

Newsletter

September is Child Safety Month - PA Law

August 2017

Each September, dealers are encouraged to participate in National Child Safety Month. Through a partnership between the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Child Passenger Safety Month is a nationwide effort to educate parents about the importance of properly securing children in approved car seats, booster seats, or with seat belts when traveling.

Experts estimate that four out of five child safety seats are installed incorrectly, and that approximately 40 percent of children under the age of eight injured in car crashes are completely unbelted. Oftentimes, these injuries are fatal.

NADA offers free handouts for distribution at inspection events. Information to help dealers plan and host a child safety seat inspection event is available on NADA’s website, www.nada.org/childsafety.

Pennsylvania Child Safety - Car Seat Law

Since August 12, 2016, young children must ride in rear-facing car seats until age (2) two. The law reflects recommendations made by the American Academy of Pediatrics, who claim that research shows such seats better protect young children in car crashes.

Pennsylvania law also requires that all children under 4 years of age are restrained in an approved child passenger restraint system, and children between 4 and 8 years of age are restrained in a booster seat.

Courtesy of PAA Bulletin No 15 • August 15, 2017