RV/MH Hall of Fame Announces 2019 Class

Jan 31, 2019 | Member News

The RV/MH Hall of Fame board of directors recently announced the 2019 honorees selected for the Hall of Fame. This year, 10 inductees will be honored during a ceremony and dinner on Monday, August 5, 2019 in Elkhart, Indiana.

The 10 honorees for the Hall of Fame recognition are:  Randy Biles, Pikes Peak Traveland, Colorado Springs, Colorado; Jeff Few, Automation and Manufacturing Systems in Indiana; Bruce Hopkins, RVIA; David Lance Wilson, Florida RV Trade Association; Richard “Dick” Ernst, Financial Marketing Associates, Inc., Dallas, Texas; John Carey, Modern Home Sales & Midwest Homes, Topeka, Kan.; Leo Poggione, Craftsman Homes, Nevada; Wally Cromer, Adventure Homes, Garrett, Ind.; Daryl Zook, K-Z, Shipshewana, Ind.; and Pennsylvanian Ray Broderick, owner/operator of Superior Homes, Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Randy Biles owns Pikes Peak Traveland, an RV dealership in Colorado Springs, Colorado. He had dedicated his more than 34 years in the industry to his customers and serving the industry overall.

Jeffrey Few was the first to develop the vacuum table for laminating RV walls. Most RV manufacturers continue to use his process today. In addition, he developed the first bolt-on hitch for towable RVs to eliminate untrained welders from hodgepodge installation of hitches, which exposed the industry to safety concerns. This system is used universally in the auto and RV industry today.

Bruce Hopkins, vice president of standards for the RV Industry Association, has impacted virtually every manufacturer, supplier and dealer as the educator on the importance of safety standards in the industry. The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) presented Hopkins with its Lifetime Achievement Award for his many years of work on fire safety in RVs.

David Lance Wilson, executive director of the Florida RV Trade Association, has devoted his life to the RV industry in Florida. One of his major achievements is the management of the Florida RV Super Show, one of the most successful retail/trade RV shows in the country.

Daryl Zook is founder of K-Z, one of the premier towable RV manufacturers in the industry. Over his decades of leadership, K-Z has continued to grow, moving beyond truck campers to produce a full line of travel trailers, fifth wheels and toy haulers.

Manufactured housing inductees are:

  • Richard “Dick” Ernst, Financial Marketing Associates
  • John Carey, Modern Home Sales and Midwest Homes
  • Leo Poggione, Craftsman Homes
  • D. Raymond Broderick, Superior Homes
  • Walter “Wally” Comer, Adventure Homes